Chocolate Cream Cheese Surprise Cupcakes

When my brother heard I was on a cupcake kick his first words were “make me those one cupcakes that I ate 100 of…”.

I immediately knew what he was talking about.

 

The first time I made these cupcakes my brother came over to my house to hang out. I offered him a cupcake, knowing my roommates and I couldn’t possibly eat them all by ourselves. He sat down to eat one and we started talking about who knows what. Or at least I was talking, he was happily peeling away cupcake papers and popping cupcakes into his mouth one by one. Before I knew it the container was empty. He looked down at it, thought for a second, and then nonchalantly asked if there were any more. There were and he devoured those just as quickly. No joke that boy ate at least two dozen cupcakes in an hour. 

So last weekend I got ready to make those cupcakes again. I found my pin on Pinterest, went to open up the page, and the blog the recipe was on had been deleted. I freaked out. I needed to make those cupcakes! Thankfully they are so delicious that about a million other people have a copy of the recipe on their blog, so I was able to easily find a copy. Although my brother didn’t devour every single one this time, he still thinks they are amazing… and I would agree. 

So here is the recipe. My two suggestions are do use MINI chocolate chips, and don’t overfill the cupcakes! I did and mine did not turn out very pretty. But hey 20 year old boys don’t care as long as they taste good 🙂

2014-03-01 09.54.24

Chocolate Cream Cheese Surprise Cupcakes
adapted from Hershey’s
makes about 30
 
Ingedients
 
for the filling:
 
8 oz. reduced fat cream cheese, softened 
1/3 cup sugar 
1 egg 
1/8 tsp salt 
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
 
for the cupcake:
 
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
2/3 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 cups water
2/3 cups vegetable oil
2 Tbsp white vinegar
2 tsp vanilla extract
 
 
Directions 
Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line muffin cups with paper liners. 
 
Prepare the filling- beat the cream cheese, sugar, egg and salt in a bowl until smooth and creamy.  Stir in the chocolate chips.
 
Stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  Add the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla.  Beat for 3 minutes.  Fill muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Spoon 1 level Tbsp of the filling into the center of each cupcake. 
 
Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the cake portion comes out clean.  Let cool for 5 minutes in the pans.  Remove from pans to wire rack.  Cool completely. 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cream Cheese Surprise Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

