Chocolate Cupcakes for two!

When I saw a recipe for TWO chocolate cupcakes I knew I had to try it. Sure I love making a whole batch, but my body doesn’t want me to eat a whole batch, plus that many of the SAME kind of cupcake gets old.

2014-03-20 15.52.10

 

The batter was more oily than most cupcakes I make, almost more like a brownie batter than a cake batter. So instead of pouring nicely into the cupcake papers it kind of just plopped. When I checked them after they had cooled the middles had sunk 😦 Im not a gourmet baker so I don’t know if this was due to the batter or the fact that my hand slipped as I was setting them down and the pan kind of dropped onto the counter instead of setting down nicely.

2014-03-20 15.09.04

The frosting is made from chocolate chips so it was VERY thick and didn’t frost very nicely (I used my fingers more than the knife….) but it did fill up that nice hole in the center of the cupcakes. However, it was very rich, so filling that hole AND frosting the tops was a little much.

2014-03-20 15.51.09

Here is the recipe I used. I would suggest cutting the frosting part in half.

Overall they were pretty good, though they definitely need milk to go with them! And they have inspired me to use the math that I thought I would never use after college and cut other recipes down to 2 servings, I will let you know how that goes….

Chocolate Cupcakes for Two (From: Like Mother Like Daughter)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 1/2 TBS sugar
  • 1 TBS cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/16 tsp salt
  • 2 TBS milk
  • 2 TBS oil
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Mix together all the dry ingredients together in a small bowl (this means: flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt).
  3. Add in the milk, oil and vanilla and stir everything together to combine.
  4. Pour batter into a cupcake/muffin pan sprayed with non stick spray (or lined with cupcake liners)
  5. Bake for about 18 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool completely before frosting.
Chocolate Frosting for Two Cupcakes
 Ingredients
  • 2 TBS butter
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 4 oz chocolate, chopped (I used a combo of milk and semi sweet)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Combine the butter, sugar, and milk in a small sauce pan and heat over medium high heat until just boiling and sugar is dissolved.
  2. Pour over chocolate in a medium sized bowl and allow to sit for a couple minutes.
  3. Stir together until chocolate is melted and mixture is smooth.
  4. Let cool for about 10 minutes in your fridge.
  5. Pour mixture into a stand mixer bowl and add in powdered sugar.
  6. Beat on high until frosting turns a lighter color and gets thicker, about 10 minutes.
  7. Transfer to a piping bag or frost with a knife.
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes for two!

  1. Sorry the middles sunk on your cupcakes, I’m not sure what caused them to do that. Also, I always add a little more milk or a little less powdered sugar if the frosting is too thick (though I usually have the opposite problem, and mine is too thin!) Thanks for sharing your thoughts anyway 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

