PR & P Season 9 Week 2

The theme for week 2 of Project Run and Play is the “Spring Break Challenge”. When I think of Spring Break I think of sunny beaches, palm trees, pina coladas, and my toes in the sand…..but in real life I usually just go home to southern Utah for Spring Break. And its usually cold, and windy, and rainy. But for my Spring Break Challenge outfit I wanted something that fit my Spring Break dream. So of course this meant a swim suit!

2014-03-31 07.37.03

I made it to fit him this summer so its still really big!

2014-03-31 07.37.42

Can’t wait till it fits better and we can go swimming!

Since babies skin is so sensitive to the sun and they don’t generate much of their own heat I knew board-shorts wouldn’t be enough when I take my little guy swimming. So I made a rash-guard top to keep the heat in and the UV-rays away.

2014-03-29 11.23.56-1

Although my baby has a super cute chubby belly I didn’t want it hanging out the whole time we are at the pool. So for the rash-guard top I used a basic onesie pattern to keep that top from wiggling up to his neck.

kwik_sew_pattern_1771_baby_t-shirt_rompers_and_pants__64ff28ec

I wanted the top to be cute enough to wear alone. So I added a color block across the middle. I love how the bright yellow gives it that fun sun-shiny look without overwhelming the piece. I also used the yellow for the trim on the arms, legs, and neck to tie it all together.

Now for the board-shorts. This is my favorite part. 🙂

2014-03-30 19.45.51

I made these shorts out of waterproof PUL fabric that I found at Joanns. This is the fabric they use for cloth diaper covers. I saw this cute dinosaur print and knew that was the stuff I needed.

2014-03-25 13.34.46

I drafted the dinosaur shorts part from a basic pants pattern I had. Now for the best part, the teal at the top is actually a built in diaper cover! This way I don’t have to remember swim diapers,swim shorts, AND a plastic diaper cover when we go to the pool. Its just one piece and it helps give it that fun color pop! I used the “Perfect Diaper Cover” pattern from Dana Made It. Then I sewed my shorts on top, added a pocket and wallah! The cutest baby board-shorts I have ever seen!

2014-03-29 11.23.46

Check out my outfit from Week 1 HERE and be sure to go over to Project Run & Play to vote for the designers!

Want to make your own board shorts with a built in diaper cover? Keep reading for a basic tutorial!

First draft up a pair of shorts from a basic pants pattern, shorts pattern, or a pair of shorts that fit your child. For this I actually used a Leggings pattern. However since PUL doesn’t stretch the same as a knit and since you want board shorts to fit loosely you have to add A LOT of width. I also took off a few inches from the top so that the diaper cover would show and give it that extra color.

2014-03-25 13.34.02

For the pocket I cut a 4×5 inch piece. Fold and press the 2 sides and bottom 1/4 inch and the top 3/4 inch. When ironing PUL make sure your iron is on LOW heat and test it on a scrap piece! If the iron is to hot it will melt the fabric! With this kind of fabric and a lower heat you won’t get a nice crisp press like you would with cotton, but it does give you enough of a guiding line.

2014-03-25 13.43.57

Sew the top of the pocket down. Then sew the pocket onto the middle of one of the short/pant pieces.

2014-03-25 13.57.07

Sew the two pant pieces together from the top to the notched part. This sews up the crotch.

2014-03-25 13.59.55

Pull to two pieces apart, folding so inner legs match up creating the two leg holes. Stitch along the inner leg.

2014-03-25 14.02.43

Hem the bottom of each leg. It looks more professional if you use a double needle. If you don’t have one you can always sew two lines next to each other.

2014-03-25 15.34.40

Next make the diaper cover. Follow this tutorial from Dana Made It.

My Mother-in-law is the queen of daily deals and had given me this cute elastic.

2014-03-29 11.05.07

So I put cute elastic around the leg holes instead of making a casing.

2014-03-25 20.24.06

2014-03-25 20.24.21

Once your diaper cover is made completely its time to add the shorts (but I would suggest adding the elastic at the waist very last).  Press down the top of the shorts 1/2 inch. Use a fabric marking pen to mark a line where the shorts will be attached to the diaper cover. For me this was right above the leg holes, so 4 inches from the top. Press the top of the shorts down 1/2 inch and sew it onto the diaper cover.

 

Add the elastic to the waist and you are done!

 

10 thoughts on “PR & P Season 9 Week 2

Leave a Reply

