PR & P Season 9 Week 3

The theme for PR & P week three is “Design Your Own Fabric Challenge–print, dye, color, paint, stencil or whatever else you can think of to design a fabric that is all you and then use that material to create an outfit.”

2014-04-07 08.16.43

2014-04-06 15.47.32

I was at my mother-in-laws the other day and she found a pair of jeans in the trash. We were both in shock. How could someone possibly throw away a perfectly good amount of fabric! Sure the jeans had a huge hole up the side of the back pocket, but that doesn’t mean you throw them away!

2014-04-03 12.44.23

So she snatched those jeans right out and let me add them to my fabric stash 🙂 When I got home I knew they would be perfect for Week 3’s challenge.

I cut off a piece of the legs and tossed them into a pot with Rit color remover. This was my first time using color remover and I gasped as those dark blue jeans turned poo brown. They were ugly. I almost cried thinking that they were ruined and I wouldn’t even be able to pull it off as khaki. I discouragingly tossed them into the rinse water and sadly swirled them around. But to my amazement dark blue ink started pouring out of those jeans and life seemed to return to them.

2014-04-06 15.49.36

By the time I was done I had a nice light faded blue jean color. I was happy with it and got to work.

2014-04-06 15.44.43

I cut out a pair of jeans for my little guy using the side seam and hem from the original pants. I top-stitched faux back and front pockets, a yoke, and a fly to make the pants look more like real jeans.

2014-04-06 15.45.35

Since little bums need to be changed so often I wanted the pants to be easy to take on and off so I sewed wide grey elastic to the top. Two seams, elastic, and top-stitching and I was done!

2014-04-06 15.45.22

For the shirt I took the easy route. (Or so I thought). I had my husband create a tribal design that I could just stencil onto a pre-made onesie. I cut my stencil out of freezer paper, ironed it on, sprayed the base layer, and left it to dry. But when I peeled the stencil off an hour later I realized the the ink had seeped through my stencil leaving  a cloud around my design. My sweet husband assured me that it actually look really cool like that so I kept going. But after painting the diamonds on off center I knew the shirt would be a failure.

2014-04-07 08.17.38

So I had to come up with a new plan. I really wanted that cute tribal design so I thought, “Hey, I can’t do paint, but I can do fabric!” So I cut my design out of fabric, painted the pieces, and sewed them on like an applique.

2014-04-06 15.46.38

It may not be what they had in mind with “creating your own fabric”, but I am the one who has to look at that onesie when my baby wears it so I wanted it to be something I wasn’t embarrassed of putting on him!

2014-04-06 15.46.18

I am very happy with how this onesie turned out, but being as stubborn as I am you can bet I am going to attack stenciling again until I get it right!

 

7 thoughts on “PR & P Season 9 Week 3

  1. Good for you redoing it until it was something you loved! My hubs gives me a hard time when I get upset over something not turning out how I wanted it to. Haha. I do it over anyway. Your onsie turned out super cute, the fabric cut outs worked great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

