Homemade Baby Food: Part 3

Have you been reading my other posts about making baby food? Part 1 and Part 2.This is seriously one of the easiest ways to save money! I just got a huge bag of slightly “old” peas, “dis-formed” peaches, and “too soft” apricots for FREE! All I had to do was ask.

IMG_2838

So, now that you have found all your equipment, bought fresh (or frozen) produce, it is time to really make baby food. In Part 2 I explained that Wholesome Homemade Baby Food is the best place to go to learn how to prepare and puree your baby food. It also has great recipes and any advice you might need on making baby food.

In Part 2 I explained that you should freeze each type of food separately and NOT make all the fun “recipes”. If you make up a batch of Pear, Carrot, Squash that is all your baby will be eating for a VERY long time. But if you freeze them separately then when it is meal time you can mix any variety of these three foods together.

Every few days I pull out a good variety of frozen foods and put them in the fridge to thaw. Then when it is meal time I throw a few together in a bowl and my baby eats something new every meal. Be aware that a lot of these foods may be a bit watery after they thaw. Just add in some baby cereal to thicken them back up to a good consistency.

IMG_2828

This is my favorite part because you can mix ANYTHING together! Don’t worry about what sounds good to you. Your baby isn’t used to set food combinations and will love the taste of new mixtures. For example, one day I fed Decker avocado, banana, strawberry yogurt. Nick about died when I told him what it was. But Decker LOVED it. And when I made Nick take a bite he decided it really wasn’t that bad.

Now for the last part. The Yummi Pouches. I mentioned these in Part 1 when i talked about equipment. I use these in two different ways. If I didn’t plan ahead and am running out the door I throw one or two frozen “bullets” of food into a pouch. They fit in there just fine and usually thaw by the time i need them, or you can run the pouch under hot water.

IMG_2841

 

When I do plan ahead I poor pureed food into them and have them in the freezer so they are ready to grab when I need them. This is definitely the better way, but whatever works. This is the only time I will pre-mix foods. You can label and date the pouches so you know what mixture is in them. These work just as well as the store bought food pouches and are SO much less expensive! If you are going to spend any money on baby food making supplies this is the one thing I would recommend!

I just pureed batches of peaches, apricots, carrots, green beans, and peas in about an two hours. The peaches, apricots, and peas were free. The bag of green beans was $1.25, the carrots were about $1.00. I made around 144 oz. Thats about 70 jars of baby food. So in two hours I made $75 worth of food for less than $3.00!!!!! This is worth it people!!!!

addtext_com_MTkzOTEwNzgxNzg

 

Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions and check out Wholesome Homemade Baby Food for more in depth information!

Leave a Reply

