Quilting for a Cause

I have been trying to use up a lot of my fabric scraps so that my sewing area is less cluttered….or so there is room for more fabric….so when I saw this rainbow quilt I knew that I had to make one. I thought it would be a perfect way to use up lots of different colors. But I soon realized that I didn’t have the colors and shades that I wanted. So I took a bunch of scraps from my mom… and nearly tripled the stash I was trying to diminish. But the quilt top is looking amazing and my mom is happy that her stash is disappearing, so I suppose there is some progress.

IMG_3100

But after I finished the main part of the quilt top I knew I had to find another design to use up all the fabric scraps. Between Pinterest and Craftsy I found about a million free quilt patterns. But I knew I didn’t want to keep all the quilts, I barely have room in my apartment as it is! That’s when I found the My Story Matters¬†foundation. They donate quilts to children battling cancer along with a book about their story. I knew that is exactly where I wanted my quilts to go.

I recently finished these three quilt tops to donate and have been blasting through those fabric scraps. I have always loved helping those in need, especially young children. For me this was the perfect opportunity to help others while learning new skills myself. I truly believe that through serving others we are able to better ourselves and all of those around us.

IMG_3105

IMG_3107

IMG_3109

The My Story Matters¬†foundation is located here in Utah. They take many different types of donations and I definitely think it’s worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

