domiNATE

My Dad has Cancer. This is something I haven’t wanted to share with many people or even talk about until recently.

This last weekend my sister and I ran a 5K for Team domiNATE, in support of a young dad who has cancer. Before the race a family member stood up to thank everyone for their support. He then told us how many people had asked him why bad things have to happen to good people. He said after much prayer and thought he had come to understand that it is so we can grow from their example. So that people can come together in prayer and support. So that we can look at our lives and better ourselves.

10354243_10201921509879210_1188211155353848196_n

I haven’t ran more than a mile at a time in years. But as I RAN that 5K next to my sister I never once thought of stopping, because I wasn’t thinking of myself. I was thinking of Nate and his family. I was thinking of my Dad and our family. I was putting the pain of others before my own and deciding to become better.

After the race my family had the opportunity to meet with Nate’s dad and wife. While both had words of encouragement for our family, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about what Nate’s dad told us. He explained that yes this is a difficult trial, but it has made his prayers more¬†sincere. It has made their family see what is truly important. And it has made them more aware of all the blessing in their life.

That gave me the strength to publicly say, “My dad has cancer. And it’s all going to work out.” He may not be here on earth with us forever, but we will make the best of the years we do have.

Although “domiNATE” is a clever saying to help Nate through his battle with cancer, for me it has become inspiration to make the most of the life I have been given. My prayers have become more sincere. I am seeing my blessings more fully, and I am reevaluating what is truly important in my life. I am using my time more wisely and trying to treat others with more kindness. I am dominating my life by bettering myself, so that I am more capable of helping others.

This same weekend I watched a couple treat each other with curt words and irritation. As I was talking about it with my mom she replied, “I don’t know how much longer I have with your dad, so I am going to make the most of the time we do have and treat him the very best I can.” If we knew our time was short would we be kinder? Would we try a littler harder to be more understanding? Would we try harder to dominate our lives and relationships?

No one knows how long they will have on this earth. We don’t know if we will have a warning or pass suddenly. But I do know that there is life after death. And I know that we can all try harder to better ourselves now and dominate the life we have been given.

2 thoughts on “domiNATE

Leave a Reply

