Fur Ear Flap Hat

Oh the weather outside is frightful…..

Okay not really. In fact it hasn’t snowed like at all and it hasn’t really been that cold. But I saw this cute pattern for a fur trapper hat and thought it would be perfect to wear outside to play in the snow with Decker. So I made it. And then I waited. And waited. And I am still waiting for the snow so I can wear it.

And if it never snows I will be greatly dissapointed, but I will start wearing this hat anyway, cuz its cute and super soft 🙂

IMG_3595

It is lined with faux rabbit fur to keep your head and ears warm and making it super soft and snuggly next to your head. The outer layer is waterproof making it perfect for playing in the snow. But you could also make it out of a cute flannel. This pattern was quick and easy to make up, but it is kinda big on my head. I prefer my hats to be a bit more fitted. There is something about having the fabric touch my ears that gives them extra psychological warmth, and this hat leaves space.

IMG_3597

If I ever make it again I would make it a little smaller and use the rabbit fur to line the whole hat and not just the earflaps.

But for now… Let is snow! Let is snow! Let is snow!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

