Crochet Santa Hat

I LOVE Christmas. I love the homemade treats, the lights, and the giving. I love the excitement of something new and seeing that excitement in others. One year as a little girl, all I wanted for Christmas was a Santa Hat. I’m not really sure why my heart was so set on it, but it was. And I was ecstatic when I got it and I wore it almost every year after that. So this year I new that my sweet baby needed a Christmas hat, because he is my perfect reminder of selfless giving.

IMG_0535

I thought finding a crochet Santa hat pattern would be really easy, but I couldn’t find one the right size or right look, so I designed my own. I wanted this hat to be one that could fit him for MANY years so I made a child size pattern. It is big on my one year old and even fits me when stretched out. For a smaller fit you could just crochet a bit more tightly.

IMG_0540

Enjoy! and Merry Christmas!

IMG_0545

IMG_0547

Crochet Santa Hat (child size)

  • hdc: half double crochet
  • dc: double crochet
  • ch: chain
  • sl: slip stitch to join
  • *repeat what is in the stars*

Tail:

  • Begin by making 6 hdc in magic ring. sl to join (6 hdc)
  • row 1: ch 2 in same space as join. 2 dc in each st around. sl to join(12 dc)
  • row 2-6: ch 2 in same space as join. 1 dc around. sl to join (12 dc)
  • row7: ch2. 2dc in same space as join, *dc in next 3, 2 dc in next* sl to join(15 dc)
  • row 8-12: ch 2, dc in same space as join and each one around, sl to join (15 dc)
  • row 13: ch 2, 2dc in same space as join, *dc in next  4, 2 dc in next*, sl to join (18 dc)
  • row 14-17: ch2, dc in same space and each one around, sl to join (18 dc)
  • row 18: ch 2. 2 dc in same space. *dc in next 5, 2 dc in next*, sl to join (21 dc)
  • row 19-20: ch 2. dc  in same space and each one around. sl to join (21 dc)
  • DO NOT WEAVE IN END! Continue on to hat.

Hat:

  • Round 1: chain 2, dc in first 6 st, 2dc in next, dc in next 14. join, chain 2 (22 DC)
  • Round 2: *2 DC in first, DC in next*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (33 DC)
  • Round 3: *2 DC in first, DC in next 2*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (44 DC)
  • Round 4: *2 DC in first, DC in next 10*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (48 DC)
  • Round 5: *2 DC in first, DC in next 11*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (52 DC)
  • Round 6: *2 DC in first, DC in next 12*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (56 DC)
  • Round 7: *2 DC in first, DC in next 13*, repeat around, join, chain 2 (60 DC)
  • Round 8-10: DC in each around (60 DC)

 

Fur Edging

  • I used Bernat Pipsqueak in Whitey White
  • Attach at the join mark from the previous round.
  • Row 1-4 – Chain 1, hdc in the same as the chain stitch and hdc around (60)
  • Join with a sl and weave in ends.
  • POM POM –
  • Wrap the yarn around your 4 fingers approximately 30 times. The more times you wrap it, the bigger it is.
  • Tie around the center of the wrapped yarn – make sure it is tied TIGHT (I like to tie it
  • a few times just to be sure!) Then cut the ends and trim it down to your
  • shape. Secure pom pom to the top of your hat, and you are done!
Leave a Reply

