Stained Glass Rainbow Quilt

I am so excited to FINALLY have this done! Over two years ago I saw this quilt on Pinterest and knew I needed to make one. I figured it would be a simple way to use up a bunch of my scraps. I needed specific colors to make the shading of the rainbow work and I soon found myself surrounded by 3 times as many scraps as I had started with, after raiding my mom’s stash (not a good way to USE UP fabric!). I decided to not only have my quilt move through the rainbow colors, but through different shades as well.

246

This project soon turned into something more than just a scrap buster. As I put my colored squares together in rainbow form I started thinking about rainbows and what they symbolize. Most of the time I think of rainbows as the reward at the end of the storm. AFTER the rain comes the rainbow. AFTER our trials come the reward and blessings. But have you ever seen a rainbow DURING the rain? These are by far my favorite. The ones that color the sky while it is STILL raining. The ones that give you courage and the strength to keep going, despite the hardships you are facing. I knew that this encouragement and love from our Heavenly Father is what I wanted to show in my quilt.

252

I added a light grey border and a dark grey border to the quilt. For me this shows the rainbow shining THROUGH the storm. As I look at the different shades of the quilt going from light colors in one corner to dark colors in the other, I think about the blessings amidst our trials. Sometimes they are bright and easy to recognize, and sometimes they seem dark and hard to decipher in the storm. But they are always there if we are just willing to look.

251

I bound the quilt with a gold fabric. To be simple, this could be the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. But it also represents the reward we receive after we make it through the storms of our life. The pot of gold my not be immediate. It may not be something we receive in this life. But it WILL come. And it will be WORTH IT!

 

I know that our Heavenly Father loves us. I know that at times, the storms of our life may seem like more than we can bare. But, I know that Jesus Christ understands what we are going through and that if we trust in him we can more easily see the blessings amidst our trials. I am so grateful for my knowledge of the Plan of Salvation and for a loving Heavenly Father. I am grateful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ so that we can be forgiven of our sins and find comfort in our trials. And I am grateful for my trials. Though they may not be easy I know that this is Gods plan and that he will strengthen me.

 

Leave a Reply

